COTA entry list is out, 13 GTE cars in Texas

The entry list for the upcoming 6 Hours of the Circuit of the Americas has been released. A total of 31 cars will compete in the Texan event, round six of the 2016 FIA World Endurance Championship.

The Grand Touring division will be once again very represented with 13 GTE machines will compete for both GTE-Pro and GTE-Am class victories.

Seven cars, representing four brands will battle for GTE-Pro supremacy in Austin. Class leaders from Aston Martin Racing will field two cars. The Young Driver AMR run #95 Aston Martin Vantage GTE will be driven by Nicki Thiim and Marco Sørensen. The sister #97 car will be in the hands of new series leader and Mexico winner Darren Turner along with the returning Fernando Ress. The Brazilian is replacing Richie Stanaway for the COTA race.

The Ferrari camp will have two cars from AF Corse. Gianmaria Bruni and James Calado, who were second in Mexco will be at the wheel of the #51 Ferrari 488 GTE. Sam Bird and Davide Rigon will be sharing the #71 Ferrari 488 GTE.

Ford Chip Ganassi Team UK's  Stefan Mücke and Olivier Pla are the drivers of the #66 Ford GT. Their team-mates Marino Franchitti, Andy Priaulx and Harry Tincknell will share the #67 Ford GT.

Factory drivers Richard Lietz and Michael Christensen will defend Porsche's colors driving the factory supported #77 Porsche 911 RSR from Dempsey Proton Racing.

The GTE-Am class will feature six cars in Austin. Points leaders François Perrodo, Emmanuel Collard and Rui Aguas will drive the #83 Ferrari 458 Italia from AF Corse. Aston Martin Racing's Paul Dalla Lana, Pedro Lamy and Mathias Lauda will compete with the #98 Aston Martin Vantage GTE.

Porsche will have three cars. Mexico winners Khaled Al Qubaisi and David Heinemeier Hansson will be joined by factory driver Kevin Estre, who is replacing Patrick Long in Texas at the wheel of the #88 Porsche 911 RSR. The Gulf Racing #86 Porsche 911 RSR will be driven by Michael Wainwright, Adam Carroll and Benjamin Barker. The KCMG #78 Porsche 911 RSR will have Christian Ried, Wolf Henzler and Joël Camathias.

 Yutaka Yamagishi, Pierre Ragues and Ricky Taylor are the drivers of the "French American" #50 Corvette C7.R from Larbre Competition.

COTA Entry List

Photos: Michelin Media