Ford wins the 2016 Le Mans 24 Hours in GTE-Pro

Ford has made history at this year's Le Mans 24 Hours. The American brand has just clinched the GTE-Pro class win in the French endurance classic first time out with the brand new Ford GT  and fifty years after their 1966 historical victory.

Fans on site and around the world enjoyed thrilling battles all race long between Ford and Ferrari for GTE-Pro supremacy. While Aston Martin, Corvette and Porsche had a frustrating event despite the latest adjustments in GTE-Pro Balance of Performance.

The winning #68 Ford GT from Ford Chip Ganassi Team USA was shared by Dirk Müller, Joey Hand and local hero Sébastien Bourdais and covered a total of 340 laps. The victorious Ford started from pole position and proved to be the strongest in the 14-car field in GTE-Pro class.

Second place in class went to by Risi Competizione #82 Ferrari 488 GTE driven by Toni Vilander, Giancarlo Fisichella and Matteo Malucelli. The American Ferrari squad had a solid race and challenged the Ford squad for GTE-Pro supremacy but was given a Stop & Go penalty in the closing stages of the race and may lose its second place.

The top-three in class was completed by the Ford Chip Ganassi Team USA #69 Ford GT in the hands of Richard Wesbrook, Ryan Briscoe and IndyCar star Scott Dixon.

The Ford Chip Ganassi Team UK #66 Ford GT was fourth, the best ranked car among the full season FIA World Endurance Championship competitors.

Aston Martin Racing ended the event in positions five with the #95 Vantage GTE and six with the #97 Vantage GTE. Best of the Corvettes was seventh with the #63 Corvette C7.R.

A very hard race for both AF Corse and Porsche Motorsport. The Ferrari and Porsche official entries have failed to finish the event with a double-DNF each.

In GTE-Am Ferrari has scored a 1-2 victory. Class win went to Scuderia Corsa and their #62 Ferrari 458 Italia driven by William Sweedler, Townsend Bell and Jeffrey Segal, an all-American line-up.

Second place in GTE-Am went to the AF Corse #83 Ferrari 458 Italia of François Perrodo, Emmanuel Collard and Rui Aguas.

The podium was completed by Abu Dhabi Proton Racing #88 Porsche 911 RSR with Khaled Al Qubaisi, David Heinemeier Hansson and Patrick Long.

The overall race victory went to Porsche with the #2 Porsche 919 Hybrid of Marc Lieb, Romain Dumas and Neel Jani.

Photos: Ford / Ferrari