13 GTE cars at the 6 Hours of the Nürburgring

Less than a week after an emotional and thrilling 24 Hours of Le Mans, the ACO has released the provisional entry list for the upcoming 6 Hours of the Nürburgring. A total of 33 cars will enter the fourth round of 2016 FIA World Endurance Championship including 13 GTE cars.

The upper GTE-Pro field will be represented once again  by seven cars. The class will see a slight change at the Ford camp as both Billy Johnson and Harry Tincknell will not compete in the German round of the FIA WEC. Ford Chip Ganassi Team UK will have two-driver line-ups in each of the two works Ford GTs. The #66 Ford GT will be driven by  Stefan Mücke and Olivier Pla. The sister #67 Ford GT will be in the hands of  Marino Franchitti and Andy Priaulx.

Ferrari and AF Corse were unlucky at Le Mans with a double DNF in GTE-Pro, at the Nürburgring they will field two cars. Gianmaria Bruni and James Calado will be at the wheel of the #51 Ferrari 488 GTE. Their team-mates Davide Rigon and Sam Bird - who won at Silverstone and Spa-Francorchamps - will be driving the #71 Ferrari 488 GTE.

New leader in GT manfacturers' standing, Aston Martin Racing will have two cars GTE-Pro in Germany. Nicki Thiim, Marco Sørensen and Darren Turner are the drivers of the #95 Aston Martin Vantage. The #97 car will be in the hands of Richie Stanaway, Fernando Rees and Jonathan Adam.

Porsche will be represented by the semi-works #77 Porsche 911 RSR from Dempsey Proton Racing with factory drivers Richard Lietz and Michael Christensen.

The GTE-Am class will feature six cars at the Nürburgring. Porsche will have three privateer Porsche 911 RSRs. Aston Martin, Corvette and Ferrari will have a single car effort each.

6 Hours of The Nürburgring Entry List

Photo: Michelin Media / Ford Media / Porsche Media