BMW chases a back-to-back GTLM victory at Laguna Seca

BMW Team RLL is looking forward to the two-hour Continental Monterey Grand Prix, at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca, in Monterey, Calif., to rebound from a disappointing Round 3 race at Long Beach as the 2016 WeatherTech SportsCar Championship finishes up its two-race West Coast swing.

Debuting two new BMW M6 GTLM racing cars this season, the team has had its share of the expected ups and downs of a new racing car, but the sum total of the program to-date shows great promise. Bill Auberlen and Dirk Werner have piloted the No. 25 M6 into a tie for second in GTLM team and driver points standings based on a fifth place finish at Daytona (with Augusto Farfus and Bruno Spengler), a second at Sebring (with Farfus) and another fifth at Long Beach. Auberlen scored the pole at both Sebring and Long Beach as well as the fast race lap at Sebring. The duo finished second to their teammates last year at Laguna Seca.

John Edwards, Lucas Luhr and the No. 100 M6 have shouldered the bulk of the team’s teething problems and bad luck this year.  A sixth place finish at Sebring has been bookended by hard crashes at Daytona and Long Beach. The pair was the winner at last year’s Laguna Seca race, mirroring the 1975 victory - almost 40 years to the day - that Hans J-Stuck and took the checkered flag in a 3.0 CSL. 1975 was BMW Motorsport’s first year of competition in the US.

This year is a historic one for The Ultimate Driving Machine® as Bavarian Motor Works celebrates its 100th anniversary. To mark the occasion both of the M6 machines will race with unique liveries and numbers significant to the marque. The No.100 M6, with John Edwards and Lucas Luhr, looks forward to BMW’s next century with an artistic theme. The No. 25 M6, driven by Bill Auberlen and Dirk Werner races wearing the number 25 in honor of BMW Motorsport’s first season racing in the US in 1975 and displays images of four significant racing BMWs; the 3.0 CSL, M1, M3 and V12 LMR.

In eight seasons of North American sports car competition, BMW Team RLL has posted 13 victories among 59 podium finishes, winning the American Le Mans Series Manufacturer and Team championships in 2010 and repeating the feat and adding the driver title in 2011. Beginning with the BMW M3 GT2 in 2009, the team successfully introduced the BMW Z4 GTLM in 2013 and expects to continue its winning ways with the BMW M6 GTLM in 2016.

BMW Press Release