GTE-Pro and GTLM - Porsche was the best GT brand in 2015

Porsche had an unbelievable 2015 season in international sportscar racing. The German brand clinched a historical outright victory at Le Mans 24 Hours, their first one since 1998. They won also the LMP1 championship titles beating the all conquering Audi team.

The same domination happened in GT competition. The Porsche 911 RSR was simply the best car in both FIA World Endurance Championship and the North American based IMSA United SportsCar Championship.

The Stuttgarrt based brand faced world class competitors in both series representing Aston Martin, BMW, Ferrari and Corvette. And yet Porsche was able to win and clinch all of the titles in FIA WEC and IMSA.

In FIA World Endurance Championship, Porsche celebrated three titles and took no less than four GTE-Pro class victories.

Michael Christensen and Richard Lietz won at the Nürburgring, at the Circuit of the Americas and in Shanghai. Their team-mates Frédéric Makowiecki and Patrick Pilet were victorious in the Bharain season finale.

Richard Lietz won the GTE-Pro driver's championship title. The works Porsche Team Manthey took the team's honors ahead of AF Corse. Porsche clinched the very prestigious manufacturer's one after titanic battle with Ferrari all season long.

In America, Porsche performed well too. The factory Porsche North America dominated the second half of the season in the demanding GT Le Mans class (GTLM).

Porsche's first victory in the 2015 IMSA came from customer Team Falken Tire at the 6 Hours of Watkins Glen. In the following rounds, the works team dominated the GTLM field.

Le Mans 24 Hours overall winner Nick Tandy along with Patrick Pilet took three straight class victories. They won at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, at Road America and the all GT event of Virginia International Raceway.

Nick Tandy and Patrick Pilet missed the victory in Austin but clinched a historical win the season finale at Road Atlanta. The two Porsche drivers dominated Petit Le Mans and were victorious overall ahead of all the Daytona and Le Mans Prototype field.

At the end of the season, Patrick Pilet won the GTLM driver's title. Porsche North America clinched the team's one and Porsche won the manufacturer's crown.

Read: This is why Nick Tandy is Sportscar driver of the year